Junya17’s Blog











{April 27, 2009}   Time capsules year 2096

painful-memories

 

Its the year 2096 , I’ve probably already passed away and left behind children, grand children and great grand children.    I’ve also left behind though a little piece of me in a time capsule from when I was 17 years old and a junior at high school.  What would you put in a time capsule?  A locket from your sweetheart?  A picture of you and your best friend at graduation?  Your first teddy bear?  People put memories in time capsules and store them away for other people to see years down the road. 

What would I put in my time capsule?  A picture of me and my boyfriend at prom, perhaps.  My old journal in which I wrote short stories in when I was little.   My old cell phone that I used obsessively when I dated said boyfriend.  Or would I want people to remember me in a different way?  For things that I onced accomplished like my first prize trophey that I won on the forensics team, or my second prize medal for landing the hand stand when I was 7. 

How do you want to be remembered?    In 2096 it would be 87 years since I wrote this blog and planned what I would put in my make believe time capsule.  If i live that long I will be 104, but right now I’m seventeen, a junior, a teenageer, confused, boy crazy , and immature.  I don’t know what I want out of life.  I don’t know what I want to be when I’m an adult but i do know that I want to be remembered for things I did, or said in my life for how I made people feel and for who I really was.

Keeping that in mind I think I’ll stick with putting my ipod in the time capsule since music seems to really define me,  the old stories that I wrote.   A picture of me with my boyfriend with a grin that could go for miles on my face and a picture of me with my friends laughing and carrying on like we usually do.  Because in reality thats what makes up who I am and thats what I want to make up my time capsule.

So what would you put in your time capsule?  87 years from now how do you want people to remember you when they dig up your time capsule?  How are you going to live your life so people can see you the way you want them to?   Have a good life and fill up your memories and your time capsule with meaningful things.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
